One career over, a new one begins

     The cliche that a closed door opens another is ringing true for me right now. After an abrupt end to my 11-year swimming career, I’ve decided to lace up some new Nike’s and take them on the tennis court. After taking a 7-year hiatus from the sport, I’m not really sure what to expect, though I am assuming I’ll be pretty awful at it for a while.

     Luckily, I have a lot of friends on the team, so I’m counting on them to keep me motivated to stay in the sport. Just yesterday I got a fresh, all-white pair of Nikes, and my dad whipped out an old racket I never even knew we had. During a hit-around with fellow senior rookie Keeky Jackson, we were both shanking shots left and right, so while it was a necessary warm-up, it wasn’t exactly reassuring.

     Either way, I think having some fun on the JV squad will be a perfect thing to occupy me for this spring. Plus, I get to learn a sport I can play with friends all through the summer.

2 Responses to “One career over, a new one begins”


  1. 1 Luke Wiseman March 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Good for you, Joey! What about doing an article on the Tennis team through your own persepective as a senior on a new team…a sport, I take it, that you’ve rarely if ever played before…??? I don’t think the tennis team gets much “press” and it might make for an interesting/quirky article.

  2. 2 geo05 March 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I commend you for playing tennis. Tennis is a life long sport, so you can keep improving and continue to play. Stick with it, unlike someone you mentioned in your post.


Leave a Reply

