Done for Life

     Today officially marks the last day I will ever have a hard swim practice in my entire life.

     You have no idea how good that feels to say. I’ve been swimming for about 12 years now. I’ve gone through multiple club teams when I was younger, These last 4 years on the high school team have been by far the hardest.

     The reason I know the remaining practices won’t be hard is because these last weeks will be what we call “tapering.” It’s hard to describe, so I’ll explain it like the oh-so-eloquent Bryan Georgelis did to me once: Imagine there is early dismissal everyday, you have no homework, and in half your classes you watch movies. That is what a tapering practices are like, though they are only the last two weeks of the season. I’m sure there is a much more scientific explanation, but all I need to know is that it makes me go faster.

     Either way, it’s an incredible feeling to be finally done with the soul-breaking sport that is swimming.

2 Responses to “Done for Life”


  1. 1 Luke Wiseman February 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Congratulations, Joey. I get the sense that you have improved greatly this year, too. Your taper is well deserved.

  2. 2 geo05 February 16, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Tell us how you really feel. Jk. But, it seems like your enjoyment of swimming has burned out. This happens too much when kids are forced into a sport, and are spend so much time and effort into it, that the fun is sucked out of it.


Leave a Reply

